J. Charles and The Trainrobbers Announce Debut Album

Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 6:07:13 AM





Los Angeles, CA, September 13, 2012 – Dallas, TX Alt-Country outfit J. CHARLES AND THE TRAINROBBERS will release their debut album, UPON LEAVING, October 16 in stores and online via End Sounds. With punk grit, classic bravado, and country honesty, the quintet roars to life unlike anyone out there.

Boasting a collective resume that includes genre stalwarts Sangre Sangre, The Strays, Death on Wednesday, The Queers, Slowride, and Eleven Hundred Springs, the group's impressive chops shine through on every one of the record's 13 tracks. Enlisting the talents of both producer/engineer Matt Pence of Americana great’s Centro-Matic, as well as four-time Grammy Award winner Gavin Lurssen (Willie Nelson, Tom Waits, Elvis Costello, T-Bone Burnett) for mastering, the band signed a distribution deal with Austin based End Sounds. Now, they're ready to let it out.

In the music on UPON LEAVING, the band relays the tale of J. CHARLES' life as he left Los Angeles for Dallas, with every gritty detail intact. It’s a pensive, potent story fueled by a pulsating rhythm section, the unparalleled melody of a steel guitar, and unabashedly confessional lyrics. As expressed in the first single, "Something Wrong", J. CHARLES AND THE TRAINROBBERS come out of the gates with all guns blazing. “Here is the story of two people meeting before they are ready to be anything, followed by the good times when they fall in love, and ultimately the bad times when it all falls apart.” explains J. Charles.  “This song has such strong mental imagery to me. The scenarios are very much literal situations that happened over the course of a 6-year relationship, and every time I sing it I can see the places, facial expressions, and even feel the seasons of when and where they took place.”

These fine gentlemen have already shared the stage with everyone from Lucero and Deer Tick, to Shovels & Rope, Lydia Loveless, Dawes, and Scott H. Biram. Now, they've lined up some special shows surrounding the release.

Get ready to meet J. CHARLES AND THE TRAINROBBERS. Rest assured… they won't be leaving again anytime soon.

UPON LEAVING Track Listing:
1. Upon Leaving 1
2. Mercy Killing
3. Letter to a Thief
4. Something Wrong
5. Three Shades of Black
6. Million Reasons
7. My Year           
8. Anthem of a Stranger
9. Blood on the Wind
10. Ain’t So Blue
11. Darling, Can’t You Hear Me?
12. Tennessee Roads (No Moon)
13. Upon Leaving 2

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Fri, 10/12 -- Urban Outfitters Grand Opening -- Fort Worth, TX               
Sat, 10/13 -- Club Dada -- Dallas, TX ("Upon Leaving" Album Release Party)
Thurs, 10/18 – Good Records – Dallas, TX (in-store appearance)
Fri, 10/19 – Magnolia Motor Lounge – Fort Worth, TX
Sat, 10/20 -- Goldthwaite Music Fest -- Goldthwaite, TX


© 2012 End Sounds